top of page

Bipartisan Second Chance Reauthorization Act Introduced in U.S. Senate

On June 5, 2024, Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Cory Booker (D-NJ), John Cornyn (R-TX), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Peter Welch (D-VT), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), and Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) introduced the Second Chance Reauthorization Act of 2024 in the U.S. Senate.

The bill reauthorizes essential reentry grant programs and enhances services and supports for housing, childcare, career training, and treatment for substance use disorders. With more than 65% of the prison population having a substance use disorder—and with people released from prison being 129 times more likely to overdose within the first two weeks of release—communities are in need of Second Chance Act programs now more than ever.

Since the Second Chance Act passed 15 years ago, over 1,100 grants have been awarded to states, local and tribal governments, and reentry-focused nonprofit organizations, reaching more than 442,000 program participants.

APF thanks each of the bill sponsors for their leadership and commitment to ensuring that communities across the country have access to reentry resources, including treatment services for substance use disorders. Second Chance Act programs are critical in helping individuals find success upon reentry, and in turn, creating healthier and safer families and communities.

The bill was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives in April 2024 by Representatives Carol Miller (R-WV), Danny Davis (D-IL), Kelly Armstrong (R-ND), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Bobby Scott (D-VA), Jerry Nadler (D-NY), Mike Turner (R-OH), and Darin LaHood (R-IL).

Show Your Support

Please join APF in showing your support for the Second Chance Reauthorization Act by thanking the bill sponsors who made this legislation possible.

Sample Social Media Posts:

Thank you [INSERT HANDLE] for your leadership on the Second Chance Reauthorization Act of 2024 and your continued championship on providing vital reentry services to communities across the country.

Thank you [INSERT HANDLE] for championing the Second Chance Reauthorization Act of 2024 to reauthorize critical reentry programs, including services for addiction treatment and transitional & supportive housing.

Twitter Handles:










Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page