top of page

Second Chance Reauthorization Act Introduced in U.S. House of Representatives

Updated: 1 day ago

Happy Second Chance Month! We are excited that the Second Chance Reauthorization Act of 2024 was introduced today by Representatives Carol Miller (R-WV), Danny Davis (D-IL), Barry Moore (R-OH), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Bobby Scott (D-VA), Kelly Armstrong (R-ND), Jerry Nadler (D-NY), Mike Turner (R-OH), and Darin LaHood (R-IL).

APF strongly supports this bill, which will reauthorize critical reentry programs and services for people returning home to their communities after incarceration. The bill enhances treatment services for substance use disorders, as well as reentry housing services.

“In West Virginia, we know how important it is to provide everyone with opportunities to succeed. The Second Chance Reauthorization Act is an important component of my efforts to reduce recidivism rates and increase public safety. When we invest in our communities and put in place strong reentry services and supports for people released from prisons and jails, we build stronger and safer communities,” said Congresswoman Miller. “The bill’s strengthened provisions around transitional housing services and substance abuse treatment will be instrumental in helping people in West Virginia and across the nation get back on the right path as they reenter their communities.” Read the full press release here.

The Second Chance Act was originally passed by Congress in a bipartisan manner and signed by President George W. Bush in 2008. Since its passage, over 1,100 Second Chance grants have been awarded, reaching 845 agencies across the U.S. states, territories, and the District of Columbia. To date, Second Chance programs have served more than 442,000 justice-involved individuals. Sign On to National Support Letter for Second Chance Reauthorization Act We invite your organization to sign on to a national letter of support for the Second Chance Reauthorization Act, which over 50 organizations have already signed on to.

A copy of the letter can be found here.

To sign your organization on to the letter, please contact Braeden Kelly at by 5pm on Friday, May 3.

Second Chance Month Toolkit

Show your support of the Second Chance Reauthorization Act by sharing your thanks with the bill sponsors on social media:

Sample Social Media Posts

“Thank you to [INSERT HANDLE] for sponsoring the Second Chance Reauthorization Act of 2024, which will provide critical reentry services to communities across the country and help cultivate safer and healthier communities.”

“Thank you to [INSERT HANDLE] for sponsoring the Second Chance Reauthorization Act of 2024, which reauthorizes critical reentry programs and enhances services around addiction treatment and transitional & supportive housing.”

“Thank you to [INSERT HANDLE] for sponsoring the Second Chance Reauthorization Act of 2024, which ensures vital reentry programs for communities across the country and addresses the continued opioid crisis by bolstering addiction treatment services and transitional & supportive housing.”

Twitter Handles:














@RepLaHood Images:


bottom of page