Meet the 2021 Addiction Policy Forum Pillar of Excellence Award Winners

Updated: Jul 17

The Addiction Policy Forum recognizes leaders every year who have improved our response to addiction and communities in need.

This year we recognize individuals who have spearheaded revolutionary work to address childhood trauma, expanded access to evidence-based treatment in West Virginia, created a groundbreaking program to give former LA gang members a second chance, spent a lifetime advocating on behalf of children impacted by addiction, inspired countless people through recovery and ultramarathons, and steered the city of Baltimore through the opioid epidemic with a critical public health response.

Keep reading to meet this year's award winners who will be honored at the National Leadership Conference

Dr. James H. Berry

West Virginia University School of Medicine

Dr. James H. Berry is associate professor and Vice Chair of the Department of

Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry at West Virginia University School of Medicine and

the Director of Addictions. He is board certified in both General Psychiatry and

Addiction Psychiatry.

To learn more about Dr. Berry, click here.

Father Gregory Boyle

Founder & Executive Director, Homeboy Industries

Rev. Gregory J. Boyle, S.J. is the Founder and Executive Director of Homeboy Industries. The idea of Homeboy Industries was born in 1988 and is now the largest gang intervention, re-hab and re-entry program in the United States.

To learn more about Father Boyle, click here.

Catra Corbett

Ultrarunner, Author

After struggling with addiction at an early age and finding herself in jail, Catra Corbett chose to drop everything and move back in with her mother. One day, she decided to start running and has never looked back.

To learn more about Catra Corbett, click here.

Dr. Nabila El-Bassel

Columbia University School of Social Work

Dr. El-Bassel is the Director of the Columbia University Social Work Intervention Group, a multi-disciplinary center focused on developing and testing prevention and intervention approaches for HIV, drug use, and gender-based violence.

To learn more about Dr. El-Bassel, click here.

Dr. Nadine Burke Harris

California Surgeon General

Dr. Nadine Burke Harris is an award-winning physician, researcher and advocate dedicated to changing the way our society responds to one of the most serious and widespread public health crises of our time: childhood trauma.

To learn more about Dr. Burke Harris, click here.

Chief Justice Loretta Rush

Indiana Supreme Court

Chief Justice Rush serves as Vice President of the Conference of Chief Justices Board of Directors, is a member of National Center for State Courts Board of Directors, and recently led response efforts to the addictions crisis as co-chair of the National Judicial Opioid Task Force.

To learn more about Justice Rush, click here.

Dr. Leana Wen

George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health

Dr. Wen served as health commissioner for the city of Baltimore, where she led the nation’s oldest continuously operating health department to combat the opioid epidemic and improve maternal and child health.

To learn more about Dr. Wen, click here.

Sis Wenger

President & CEO, National Association for Children of Alcoholics (NACoA)

At NACoA, Sis has written numerous articles published across disciplines, edited, co-authored or contributed to books, journals, and program materials, in addition to her advocacy and leadership roles.

To learn more about Sis Wenger, click here.

Join us virtually November 4-5 for the 2021 National Leadership Conference, and help us celebrate all of the award winners who are making improvements in the field of addiction.

Register here.